Life is a game, take it seriously

A good alternative for Matlab

In Computer Vision, Matlab on July 11, 2012 at 4:56 am

by Wen

Matlab is one of the most popular tools in the field of image processing. I’ve been using Matlab for years when I was in the schools. Soon after my graduation, I found that I was not able to use Matlab anymore. I tried to buy it for personal use and found it to be very expensive. I was very frustrated until I found Octave, which is developed to be compatible with matlab. The good thing is that the old functions I developed under matlab environment can still be used with little modification most of the times. Octave also runs on windows machine using cygwin. I would like to share two problems that I encountered while trying to run octave on windows machine using cygwin.

  • “Unable to open display” while trying to create drawings

The problem is that gnuplot doesn’t draw figures in cygwin terminal. Running octave in x window will solve the problem. Typing “startx” in cygwin terminal will start the x server needed.

  • /usr/bin/octave-3.4.2.exe: error while loading shared libraries: ?

In my case, octave ran in my cygwin terminal but failed to lunch in the x window. The error message indicates that there is something missing in PATH. By comparing the PATH parameters in the cygwin terminal and x window, I found that it’s lapack that is missing. For me, “PATH=$PATH:/usr/lib/lapack” solved the problem.

Here’s how it looks like.

Leave a Reply

